November 27, 2023 | OVI
While many states have laws regarding driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), others have enacted laws centered on operating a vehicle while impaired (OVI). In Ohio, this can apply to impairment by alcohol, drugs, or both while operating a vehicle.
Unfortunately, driving while impaired can be dangerous drivers, passengers, cyclists, pedestrians, and property. Since 2018, OVI drivers have been responsible for over 73,000 crashes in the state of Ohio, including over 3,000 fatal crashes.
For this reason, OVI offenders will face a range of penalties, such as fines, jail time, the loss of a driver’s license, and more. The penalties can increase with subsequent convictions for the same offense. So, exactly what types of consequences can you expect to face if you’re charged with and convicted of multiple OVI offenses in Dayton, OH?
Penalties for OVI/DUI In Ohio
In OVI cases, the state must only prove that you were operating a vehicle while impaired. A simple urine or blood test is all that’s needed to show alcohol or drugs in your system exceeding legal limits. Unfortunately, refusing a test can also result in penalties.
First Time Offense
Ohio does not play around when it comes to penalizing OVI offenses. The first offense within 10 years includes a minimum of three days (72 consecutive hours) in jail, with judges having the option to impose a sentence of up to six months of jail time.
You will also face a minimum fine of $375, although fines could be up to $1,075. In addition, your license will be suspended for a minimum of one year or possibly up to three years. If you choose to drive with a suspended license, you could face additional penalties.
For first-time offenses, judges have the discretion to impose additional penalties, including substance abuse counseling, probation, and community service. Judges can also enact vehicle sanctions like restricted (yellow) license plates and ignition interlock devices.
Second and Additional Offenses
If you have a second OVI offense within the space of 10 years, your penalties for conviction will be more severe. You’ll face 10 days to six months of jail time, fines up to $1,625, and one to seven years of license suspension. You will also be required to undergo a mandatory assessment for treatment.
Conviction for a third offense in 10 years will result in 30 days to 12 months of jail time, fines of $850 to $2,750, and license suspension for two to 12 years. If you’re convicted of a fourth OVI offense in 10 years, you’ll face 60 days to 30 months of jail time, fines of $1,350 to $10,500, and a license suspension of three years to life.
For second and additional alcohol-related offenses, you will also be sentenced to yellow plates and ignition interlock devices. Third and fourth offenses come with mandatory treatment sentencing. Your sentence could also include additional penalties if you refuse to submit to drug and alcohol testing at the time of arrest.
What Can You Do?
During your first court appearance for OVI charges, you will have the opportunity to plead guilty or no contest to the charges. In that case, you’ll be sentenced to at least the minimum penalties, and the case will be concluded.
However, you could also choose to plead not guilty, in which case you’ll have to attend subsequent court hearings to determine whether you are guilty or not. Considering the steep penalties for your first and subsequent OVI convictions, you may find it worth your time and money to contest the charges and try to improve the outcome of your case.
If you are facing multiple OVI charges, contact a Dayton criminal defense attorney to learn more about your legal options.
Contact the Dayton Criminal Defense Attorneys at Suhre & Associates, LLC For Help Today
Suhre & Associates, LLC – Dayton
130 West Second Street #17-129
Dayton, OH 45402